Roll 3: Kodak Tri-X 400

Roll 3: Kodak Tri-X 400

Very first actual BW film! Managed to find a lab to process it at an affordable price. I would love to process bw film myself one day but still slowly gathering the equipment and chemicals needed. So far I have a roll of undeveloped film I shot lol.. This shot of the opera house from the distance was the very first capture from the roll. It was raining pretty bad and after I took this, my viewfinder fogged up. As a consequence a few of  captures where out of focus as I could not see properly lol.

Copyright Justin Tan-Torres
Copyright Justin Tan-Torres

Thankfully, I managed to find shelter. Everyone was waiting for the rain to ease. Each with their own places to go but gathered to one place for the same reason. Pretty proud of these captures as I was using the canonet with a busted light meter. Sunny 16 all the way! 😀

Copyright Justin Tan-Torres
Copyright Justin Tan-Torres

Eventually the rain eased. Tourists flocked to the Icon of Sydney.

Copyright Justin Tan-Torres
Copyright Justin Tan-Torres

Harbour bridge from the opera house. Always busy with activity.

Copyright Justin Tan-Torres
Copyright Justin Tan-Torres

An invisible man sits amongst the crowd. Pretty cool dude. If you are ever at the rocks in Sydney you wont miss him although his head is missing lol. I think I have found my film of choice. Tri-x is brilliant!

13 thoughts on “Roll 3: Kodak Tri-X 400”

  1. The Opera House looks different in rainy day. It is even strange for me you have rain. After my visit to Sidney I was pretty sure there is no rain there at all. It was lovely and sunny thee weeks trip. I love your city.

    1. The weather is usually as you said sunny and bright, however recently we have had a lot of rain. Creates a different mood which photographers are drawn to. Sadly some flooding has occurred in parts of Australia.

  2. You will love developing your own film. I recommend you have a few rolls handy or if you know you will consistently shoot in b&w. If not you might end up wasting chemicals and end up costing you more in the long run.

    1. Cheers Sarah. Planning on getting a big bulk of Tri-X to shoot for the year. Although I am very much enjoying shooting different films, tri-x seems to be the perfect fit 😀

    1. Thank you 🙂 I use fotoriesel at kent street. I think they are the cheapest bw processing in Au. $15 for processing and scan. I am back in WA now but planning to send it to them from here. Waiting for a roll of ilford in the mail 🙂

    2. Do you know if they process slide film by any chance? I forgot to ask them and couldnt find it on the website. I go to visionimage lab but would be great if I can get it done there too.

Leave a Reply

