Exposures finally!!!

Exposures finally!!!

I cannot explain how excited I was picking up my roll of black and white film! Granted it is actually my 4th roll as I was able to find a place locally to develop it. It was an Ilford Super XP2 for C41 processing. Some shots which I would have liked to get was out of focus as I am a newbie 😦 Luckily I ended up with some keepers I liked and the sunny 16 rule held true. Some shots showed some crappy grain. Not so sure why. Would like to know if anyone can help. I am not sure if it was the film or my settings.

Supposed to be two picks per roll but its the first so i’ll bend my limit a little haha.. The slide films and kodak 125 tx is still on the waiting list. Hopefully I’ll get my first slide film processed and scanned soon. Man film is awesome! Its like a little kinder surprise! Something which I think lacks in digital. Β The anticipation and reward from waiting and being patient whilst shooting.
Thanks for your time. Critiques, tips and comments welcomed πŸ™‚

Spotted this brave boy jumping from a tree down to the river. I waited for abit for him to jump but I didnt want to get spotted in the end I am happy with this :)
Spotted this brave boy jumping from a tree down to the river. I waited for abit for him to jump but I didnt want to get spotted in the end I am happy with this πŸ™‚

 

Biker
Territorial markings Landmarks I am amazed by the sharpness of this. The grain not so much.
16 thoughts on “Exposures finally!!!”

  1. Hey buddy! The grain issue happens when it’s too dark and your film is not fast enough, i.e. the ISO is too low. The developing lab could have push processed those shots BUT your other “correctly exposed” shots would have suffered. Hope this helps!

    Still learning about film myself… You are right how film photographs are more soulful.

    1. Thanks Kristin! Appreciate the information and visit πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ I am about to get the lab to pull process as I shot a roll of expired slide film (10 years!) Hope it shows up.

  2. Hi! Enjoyed your photos and was thrilled with your enthousiasm! I have never used Super XP2. I remember using an Agfa (or was it Kodak) b&w film developed in C41, but since I enjoy developing the films by myself (and printing from them, as well) , it was just for trial 10-15 years ago.
    I found this very interesting site about these types of film and the problem you ask for: http://theonlinephotographer.typepad.com/the_online_photographer/2012/10/how-to-shoot-ilford-xp2-super.html

    Carry on the good work!

Leave a Reply

