Rangefinders coming but SLR lightmeter not working :(

Rangefinders coming but SLR lightmeter not working :(

First Film Rangefinder has finally arrived. The canonet QL25 was in pretty good shape, it even had the old school mercury batteries inside lol. Funnily enough I am picking up two QL17 GIII later this evening. Why two? Because two is better than one πŸ˜› Damn G.A.S! Pretty excited πŸ™‚

Tested the light meter of the canonet using the alkaline hearing aid batteries and it works πŸ™‚ Compared it to an iphone light meter app and a dslr and it was pretty close. Sadly I discovered my Konica FTA’s lightmeter is off its rocker. It doesnt bother me as much as I shot using the sunny 16 guideline quite abit but on my second roll I used the FTA’s shutter priority (EE) so I am afraid some shots will be bad.

Ahh well, more newbie mistakes only makes you better πŸ˜€

5 thoughts on “Rangefinders coming but SLR lightmeter not working :(”

  1. If you get more film cameras you can always invest in a light meter, particularly if you’re going to shoot indoors, It’s been an invaluable tool for me.

  2. So much enthusiasm over film photography just as i am reconsidering reloading some old film camera (maybe the very old folding camera that shoots 12 frames of 6x6cm on one 120 roll?)

    I wish you all the best in your film experimentations and with your young but growing blog πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

