Film Scouring

I was lucky enough to be given a film SLR with some expired films to start. But I know this batch will run out some day so I started searching the vast interweb, websites and forums on where to buy the cheapest film including shipping cost to Australia. So far I have discovered amazon to be the cheapest for some Kodak Tri-X 400 😀

5 rolls is about $25 – $30 or so with shipping. I havent really looked into coloured film yet so cant really say where the best prices are. Alibaba offers some pretty good deals from China for a limited amount of selection of coloured film on their site with free shipping. If you guys know of any other bargains, please kindly share 🙂

8 thoughts on “Film Scouring”

  1. I would recommend you try a brand called Lucky film. It’s from China and they have b&w. The results are variable, but I’ve had some ok results with it. Try Fuji expired color film, I love using it and sometimes it turns out like slide film!

    1. Cheers for the info and thanks for the visit 🙂 just looked them up and their processing $ is pretty good. Although films are on the pricey side. Will prob get my tri x processed there 2moro. Vision image lab at redfern does slide film which is good.

  2. I’ve been using Kentmere 100, which is fairly inexpensive (at least in comparison to Tri-X) and getting consistent results. There are many examples on my blog. After trying a few rolls, I started bulk loading it – 100′ rolls typically cost $30-35 US from USA sources.

Leave a Reply

